The News Agency of the International Society for Krishna Consciousness

Bhaktisiddhanta Sarasvati Featured on the Wikipedia Main Page

By: for ISKCON News on Feb. 7, 2014
World News
Photo Credits: wikipedia

Wikipedia's "Did you know?" section featuring Bimal Prasad on February 6th, 2014.

On February 6, 2014, Wikipedia commemorated the 140th anniversary of Srila Bhaktisiddhanta Sarasvati Thakura’s appearance on its Main page under the Did you know… section.

Readers could see a photograph on the 11-year-old Bimala Prasad with a blurb that reads:

Did you know ...that Bimala Prasad (pictured) would be feared as the "lion guru" and respected as a "living encyclopedia”?

The clickable link at Bimala Prasad takes readers to the newly expanded article on Bhaktisiddhanta Sarasvati at: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bhaktisiddhanta_Sarasvati_Thakura

A screen shot of the Wikipedia main page on February 6th, 2014

The tribute for Bhaktisiddhanta Sarasvati stayed up on the Main page for a total of 8 hours until 06:00am New York time, 11:00 London time (UTC), or 16:30 New Delhi time.

The Wikipedia’s Main page is viewed by 10-15 million visitors a day.

Tags:
[ bhaktisiddhanta-sarasvati-thakura ] [ prasadam ]
Disqus